YWP Staff & Board


Executive Director Susan Reid: Susan is a former journalist who moved to Vermont in 2001 from Toronto, Ontario, where she was a political reporter and copy editor at the Toronto Star. She worked at the Burlington Free Press for several years before joining Young Writers Project in 2011. She became executive director in 2018 when founder Geoff Gevalt retired to pursue his own writing. sreid@youngwritersproject.org, (802) 324-9538

Publications Coordinator Anna Forsythe: Anna is a 2015 writing and publishing graduate of Emerson College in Boston. She joined Young Writers Project in 2018 and coordinates our publications including our newspaper series. She also mentors our writers, and provides outreach through social media. anna@youngwritersproject.org

Editor William Anderson: William has worked in many areas of newspapers and magazines, and has a specialty in the arts. He is the former managing editor of Vermont Life magazine and before that, Weekend editor at the Burlington Free Press. He joined Young Writers Project in 2018, and provides website and program support, with a special focus on our anthology, ArtSpace, and journalism projects. william@youngwritersproject.org 


Hillary Read, Board President (marketing & communications consultant, fiction writer, former journalist)
Aimee Picchi, Board Vice-President (CBS business reporter, writer of science fiction, YWP parent)
Kathy Folley, Board Record Keeper (retired teacher, YWP mentor and editing support)
Doreen Wright, Board Treasurer (editor and page designer)
Jacques Bailly (UVM classics professor, Scripps National Spelling Bee's official pronouncer)
Erin Bundock (visual artist, YWP alumna)
Giovanna Di Paola Jager (designer, owner of Karma Bird House, Burlington, VT)
Shannon Ripp (professional writing graduate, digital account manager, former YWP intern)
Reuben Jackson (poet, jazz archivist, former VPR Friday Night Jazz host, YWP workshop leader). With great sadness, YWP lost our dear friend, mentor, and board member Reuben Jackson who passed away in February 2024. Please read "Remembering Reuben Jackson."

Zinnia Hansen (Yellow Sweater on YWP)
Kevin Huang (KevinH on YWP)
Jadyn Mardy (Treblemaker on YWP)